The latest release by Walls of Freedom called “The Hanged Man” is to be released on the 8th of March 2024.

The release features 2 new original songs and 2 covers by Flying Saucer Attack and Hüsker Dü.

“Three years ago, I found myself without work and with the prospect of not having any for the foreseeable future. With what seemed like and eternity on my hands, I spent a lot of time in thought and setting small goals for myself everyday so that I’d feel some modicum of achievement. Days and weeks went by, and I found myself unable to sit still, with the constant nagging feeling that I have to do something. I would wake up, and before I could blink I’d realise that the day was already over. I started being unable to sleep, and before long I hadn’t slept for about 3 weeks. All the while I remember a feeling of absolute dread creeping to the surface, anxiety so intense that I could literally smell fear in the air. Unable to cope with this extreme feeling, I ultimately ended up having a nervous breakdown. I realised that behind the dread, there were painful emotions rising to the surface of things I had failed to process and deal with. The devastation of lockdown, and of all that had happened to me in my life.

During this period I wrote “The Hanged Man” and “Achilles Heel”. Two other songs that great affected me during this period were “For Silence” by Flying Saucer Attack, and “No Promise Have I Made” by Hüsker Dü. I decided to cover these two songs, in addition to the originals presented here together on this EP, a testament to this period of intense self-reflection and opening up to a wider spiritual reality.”

Pre-orders are available now on Bandcamp as digital download and limited edition cassette.